top of page

Design Inspiration


I feel most productive when I'm designing. I struggle to follow patterns, as once I begin another's pattern, I find myself straying and making something new anyhow. As much as I love creating, and as many ideas that I have for knits....sometimes I feel like I don't know where to begin. So I dig for inspiration.

Where is the best place for inspiration? My pick is a book! It is another way to bring the story to life, as I am buried in the theme and scenery of the pages. While reading, a distinct color way is on the brain, and I imagine what the characters are wearing. It doesn't take more than the first 2 chapters before my own ideas are making its way into a design of my own.

An example of my latest novel inspired knit is my Illusionist Sweater. I created it while reading The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Wow! It is set in the Victorian era, and the skies are gray and gloomy. However, at night, the flashy black and white circus comes to life. The circus goers all attend in their best black and white attire, but they wear bold red scarves. Layers of fabric, interesting costumes and formal wear in the 1800s best trends bounced in my head...so I had to make my thoughts a modern reality.

Why is my sweater gray and NOT black and white with a scarlet neckline?! As my design elements are rather daring (as Victorian style is), I didn't want to distract from my favorite parts of the sweater, which are the oversize bell-sleeves and off-shoulder ruffle. My mind was set on gray from the first few pages anyhow, as I imagines the gray London skies and glum mood. However, this sweater would be fabulous in the black, white and red theme, especially the oversize bow-tie neckline (knit by my testers) in the pattern.

As mentioned above, I include 3 neckline and 3 sleeve options, as well as length and fit differences. Why do I stray from my original design? That is just the way my mind works. I am sometimes indecisive and imagine my patterns with several options...so I include them all! Plus, I love to mix and match...and I mentioned that I stray from most of others' patterns when I knit, so I include options for others to do the same.

Are you a designer yourself AND a book nerd? I suggest creating a wearable story to match your next read.

bottom of page